bit my tongue

Overheard today…

“I don’t need a piece of paper to say how much I love someone.”

I didn’t say anything. I could’ve, but I didn’t see the point. Someone who says that has already made up her mind. And it’s not the first time I’ve heard marriage described thus. To those who would utter this to others, though, I would say two things.

One, clearly marriage isn’t for you. And that’s okay. Marriage isn’t for everyone. That’s the thing about life choices. There are lot of valid ones out there.

Two, marriage is much more than a piece of paper. It’s one of the most powerful expressions of love. Or, at least, it can be. It means you’re willing to jump through the legal hurdles and accept the legal consequences and declare (legally) in front of whoever you invite that this love is going to stick for life (ideally).

Oh, and three. People don’t usually get married because they need to. They usually do it because they want to.

Anyway. Like I said, it’s okay if you don’t feel like the marrying type. That’s cool. Just don’t compare it to a piece of paper. That just makes you sound silly.

Leave a Reply

