sick. again

So, over the weekend, I fell deathly ill. A slight exaggeration, but only slight. Cold? Flu? If someone could tell me the difference. I had one of those and was pretty much sprawled on the couch the last few days.

It’s hard to do anything when you’re sick. Things that need doing, things that you want to do, all of it sort of becomes just a little irrelevant when your body’s out of whack. I am going to work today, hopefully for my full shift, though I still feel pretty terrible.

I was unable to even attempt any writing, though I am looking forward to that now. Some things have changed. I’ve let a few things go, some things that have been sapping my creativity. Sometimes a story just doesn’t work out, and the more you put into it, the worse it gets until things just turn toxic. Gotta let those go or you’ll lose your joy for the whole thing.

It takes courage to let go. It takes courage to make a change. It’s not always a matter of success or failure. Sometimes it’s realizing it’s not the right time. It’s not the right project. Sometimes it takes patience and discernment to set a project aside and focus on other things. Sometimes it takes a hard conversation with a friend to say it’s just not working out and it’s nobody’s fault.

It’s not failure.

But even if it is, it’s not the end of everything. At least, it doesn’t have to be. I could call it quits. I could walk away from writing and never look back. And that would be okay. But I’m not ready to do that. I have some left in me. So this project didn’t work out. There are others. I have many more story ideas just begging to be fleshed out. And I still have my book.

It takes courage to let go. It takes courage to start over. And it takes courage to get up and do what you have to do, even when you’re coughing, sweating, sneezing, and running a fever. 🙂

Leave a Reply

